Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Keeping System Time (SIP and Rpi)
Hi
as far as i know raspberry pi can not keep its clock up to date since it has not RTC (real time clock) !
especially when it is not connected to internet (not contacting Online NTP servers !)
here is my issues :
i will be deploying SIP on a Rpi at a remote location with the following limitations :
  1. no internet connection
  2. no stable electricity (8 hrs daily)
the first issue cannot be resolved and i can live with that (thanks for SIP program schedules )

for the second issue i have decided to install RTC  (Ds3231) chip to provide accurate time to Rpi and SIP ,then scheduling auto system shutdown to avoid unexpected shutdown and cripple the entire system

am i on the right Path? since im not an expert in this area i always prefer to ask before do anything on my own is there any other solution for the time tracking ?
Your plan to use a Ds3231 chip and have the Pi shutdown automatically sounds good.

I don't know of any other way to keep accurate time on the Raspi.
The RTC information I sent you a link for in an earlier post is old and I have been working on new instructions for using an RTC with the newest raspbian versions (Jessie or Stretch).

I don't know your location or what access you have to electronic components but there is a nice RTC that is designed specifically for the Pi from Adafruit:
https://www.adafruit.com/product/3386

You just need to get it with the battery and plug it on to the Pi's GPIO pins (pins 1 to 6). It will work with the relay_16 SIP plugin. 

I will post here as soon as I have the new instructions ready.

Dan
Big Grin 
danYour plan to use a Ds3231 chip and have the Pi shutdown automatically sounds good.

I don't know of any other way to keep accurate time on the Raspi.
The RTC information I sent you a link for in an earlier post is old and I have been working on new instructions for using an RTC with the newest raspbian versions (Jessie or Stretch).