Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
mqtt plugin question
Gerard: do you have a repository where your MQTT code resides or is it just local?

Dan: I completely agree that writes should be limited to prolong the life of the device.   I've been running some home automation software for a few years now.  All sensor data and graphs are stored in a compressed ramdisk (zram) and is synced up to a cloud several times per day.  If the device reboots it just downloads the last "cloud backup" back into zram disk and continues as normal.  ( more on zram at the end )

It appears to me that SIP will be a good platform to build on.  Environment data could be kept in small arrays in RAM.  Weather forecast, temperature, wind, soil moisture constantly change.  Gerald is right in that it will be the software logic that tie the data together.

I'll keep reading through the code to familiarize myself with the back-end of SIP.

==== zram ====
# if you are not worried about RAM size just use tmpfs /dev/shm.  If you need more ram-disk space use zram as follows:
modprobe zram num_devices=1
echo 10M > /sys/block/zram0/disksize
mkfs.ext2 /dev/zram0
mount /dev/zram0 /my_storage
#https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Zram

Dean M.
My wife tells me it is time for bed... Poked around a bit sip.py
* line 56 & 77 - globally makes weather adjustments for all stations that allow weather adj.

Integrating soil moisture sensors will need variable adjustment for each station/zone (not global). ( external sensors MQTT).

e.g.
* user option "Lower Threshold" to choose how dry to let the soil get before starting a cycle OR increasing duration. ( hot dry days )
* user option "Upper Threshold" to choose how wet to let the soil get before stop/cancel a cycle OR decrease duration. (rainy cool damp days)
* detect if moisture sensor values are not changing (dead battery) switch back to regular schedule ( don't over/under water )