Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Wi-Fi relays for more flexibility and PUMPs
Hi,

SIP is a very interesting software because it can create an professional irrigation system from a raspery pi.
My idea is to become SIP even more versatile. If the number of output could be variable.

Each output it would be interesting to be configurable:
 - use http command for example for SHELLY or an SONOFF device in the local network
 - MQQT command to activate the valve.
 - more industrial irrigation need to activate pumps, for example in my case i have an shelly 1 device to activate pups.
 - same other valves must be activate to have weather in the valve´s NODE.
 - possible same implementation could be done in an Linux machine, no GPIO no be needed. Add possibility to disable GPIO at all.

I am a programmer, my question is how interesting for the community of this feature?
To do this I need to change the core on the program or an plugin solve the problem?

Thanks,

Pedro Santos
Could indeed be usefull. Most of what you want is already possible with the current version and plugins.
I would suggest to expand (or rebuild) the MQTT part of SIP. With mqtt you could also interact with the Shellies. I do so too but have node-red in between (most of) everything.

The one option missing now is a versatile activate multiple but not all valves or other devices. That is a bit tricky to implement (at least I think so) because it is a core functionality and many plugins depend on it. @Dan can say much more about it.

--Gerard
Hi Pedro,

The number of stations is variable. Under Optoins > Station handling you can increase the number of stations by increasing the number of Station extensions. Each extension of 1 will add 8 stations. On the Stations page you can control how many stations are displayed in the UI with the "Enabled" check boxes. See the pcf857x_plugin for a way to add a large number of stations while using just a few GPIO pins.