Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Retrofitting a dinosaur
I finally needed to replace the old sprinkler controller that has been in service for about 60 years.  I had been using this dinosaur of a controller for over 20 years, and it's limitations finally prompted me to update.  Of course I reviewed prices on new digital controllers from the leading irrigation controller manufacturers, but price and usability led me to this open source solution.  I've included some pictures of the circa 1960 controller for your enjoyment.

The old controller had a nice weatherproof hardened enclosure, so I decided to remove the guts of that controller and use the enclosure for my SIP installation.  The controller consists of a Raspberry Pi 4b with 3 amp USB-C modular power supply paired with a Huayao 8 Channel Optocoupled 5VDC Relay Module.  Interfacing the Pi to the Relay Module was straightforward.  I did not split the 5VDC supply on the Relay Board, choosing to drive the relay board entirely from the Pi 5VDC supply.  I used the first 6 relays for the 6 existing stations in my existing irrigation configuration.  I used the 7th relay as a Master for the 24VAC common line so that the solenoids are completely isolated from the 24VAC transformer when not activated.

I hardwired the Ethernet instead of using WiFi, mostly because my chosen enclosure is effectively a Faraday cage.

I salvaged the 24VAC transformer and 3A circuit breaker from the old controller.  I used the existing 110VAC main running to the enclosure for the 24VAC transformer.  I may add a extension cord socket pigtail to the 110VAC to plug my USC-C power block into; it's plugged into the GFCI quad outlet next to the enclosure now.